Devotional: The Power of a Praying Wife

August 26, 2009 at 9:13 pm | Posted in devotional, Marriage | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , , ,

Well, I gave it a go.

I tried really hard.

I did read the whole book.

But I just didn’t respond to it the way I thought I would. I wasn’t hugely inspired. I didn’t feel miraculous change. Towards the middle, I started wishing it were over. And that almost never happens when I read a book. Usually, when I hit the middle I start getting anxious because it means the end is near! It’s not that this was a horrible devotional…that’s not it at all. It was wonderfully written with tons of useful information. It was biblically based, full of scripture and written in a way that its very easy to follow.

My problem with this devotional was simply this: it is full of anecdotes from the author’s marriage BEFORE God healed it. It almost seemed as if it is intended for troubled marriages, and the relevance and urgency is lost if your marriage is healthy and thriving. Now, I’m not claiming to have a perfect marriage…but my husband and I do, for the most part, have very few problems (praise the Lord!). It was really hard for me to relate to the anecdotal support the author offers in her book.

On the positive side: The scriptural references and sample prayers were excellent resources.

I do, however, highly recommend Stormie Omartian’s The Power of a Praying Parent. I found it very comforting, empowering and insightful.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

