The Trials of Teething

August 24, 2009 at 3:34 pm | Posted in Natural Living, Parenting | 2 Comments
Tags: , , ,

Teething is no fun.

Any mom will tell you that!

My own three kids have handled teething in very different ways.

Emma was grumpy but responded well to frozen washcloths and ice cubes in mesh feeder.

Gracie was as happy as a baby could be…no fussing, just EXCESSIVE drooling.

Judah is miserable.

I mean MISERABLE.

When it first began about 2 months ago I was shocked at how Judah went from a happy, content, peaceful baby to a screaming, crying, didn’t-want-to-nurse-or-sleep baby. I was flabbergasted! We had four solid days of utter fussiness. No sleep. Engorged momma. Hungry baby. I tried Orajel, but it did nothing to soothe him. In fact, the first time I put it on his mouth he swallowed some and started to gag as if he were choking! The only thing it did was numb his gums enough to allow him to latch on without pain, but a few minutes into the nursing it would wear off, leaving me with a screaming, starving baby. 

Strangely enough, after four days it stopped. The tooth was just at the surface, and I guess it was enough to lessen the pain he had been experiencing. At the time, a friend of mine recommended a homeopathic product made by Hylands, but I was unable to find it anywhere in Honolulu. And since the pain had passed, I forgot all about it.

This past week it began again.

Crying.

Fussing.

Restlessness.

And luckily, while on a shopping romp at Walgreens, I found the product that she suggested.

ttabs-newI used them last night for the first time…3 tabs under his tongue. They dissolve immediately and are tasteless. And they seemed to work right away! Judah was much calmer, he nursed better at bedtime with less pulling off and crying. I am so relieved to have found them!

Read more about Hyland’s Teething Tablets here.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I use the Hyland’s tablets too and they’re great, Little Teethers also makes them and my son loves them. He’s almost 10 months old and when his bottom two teeth cut through, I never even had to use Tylenol, I just gave them the tablets and they worked like a charm! I always give him three before bed too since we’re still in the teething stage and will be for a while…I found the Little Teethers at Babies R Us and I think Target has them too!

    Check out my blog at http://jacksmom.wordpress.com/

    • thanks for your response! it’s always nice to hear about new products and the people they’ve helped. i’ve been very happy with them so far as well. i will check out your blog right now! aloha!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

