Malama Monday: Skin Care for the Confused

August 24, 2009 at 12:16 pm | Posted in Malama Monday, Natural Living | 2 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , ,

I have confused skin. 

It thinks it’s going through puberty, yet it is developing it’s first little wrinkles at the same time.

I never had problems with acne until I started having babies. Something just went haywire and now I’m an almost thirty-year-old with temperamental, irritated, blotchy skin.

*Sigh*

I’ve tried many different face washes, serums, lotions, potions, magic drying solution…the list could go on forever! And nothing works. In fact, my newest attempt at finding a good face wash ended up in the worst breakout yet, caused by a little ingredient that was mentioned in the very finest of fine print…sulphur. I am terribly allergic to sulphur! So I had an allergic reaction on top of the acne that was already painfully spreading across my face. 

After much thought I came to a realization…I’ve been using chemicals to clean my skin. I use all natural stuff for the babies and we eat organic and local as much as possible. Somehow that awareness had not translated into a more natural, healthy skin care regiment for momma.

After that quick, “DUH!” moment, I found this new line from Burt’s Bees. I’ve been a fan of their products FOREVER and am so glad they are making skin care for gals like me!

Burts-Bees-Natural-Acne-Solutions-Free-Sample-300x274I found it at Walgreen’s and also saw it at Down To Earth markets here in Honolulu. I’ve been using the Purifying Gel Cleanser for three days and it has done MIRACULOUS work so far. No redness, no drying, less pimples. I’m amazed. The Burt’s Bees Acne Solutions series uses salicylic acid derived from willow bark. As with all of their products, the washes, serums and gels are almost 100% natural and packaged in recycled/recyclable bottles.

In addition to the Acne Solutions wash, I’ve been using witch hazel as a toner. It was on sale at Walgreen’s this weekend for $1.99 for a gigantic bottle! Witch hazel has many medicinal properties and has myriad uses, including:

 

  • astringent for skin– acne, cuts, scrapes, contusions
  • temporarily tighten and soothe aching varicose veins
  • relieve the pain of hemorrhoids 
  • a throat gargle of witch hazel, myrrh, and cloves reduces the pain of an uncomfortable sore throat (DO NOT USE THE DRUGSTORE VARIETY. A tincture should be made using fresh herbs.)
  • a cotton swab dipped in a witch hazel, goldenseal, and calendula tea and applied to the outer ear is useful in treating swimmer’s ear

 

 


2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I’m so with you on this- it’s not even funny. It’s absolutely ridiculous actually. I haven’t tried the Burt’s Bees line yet, but think I will. Did you know that the headquarters is in Durham, NC only 30 min. away from me. Wish that meant I got a discount or something, but I don’t!

    • I’m sorry you’re having issues too…but glad to know I’m not the only one my age that struggles with this! The Burt’s Bees is wonderful so far. Do they have an outlet store or something in Durham? That would be wonderful! I know you were using coconut oil earlier…did you notice any beneficial change? I use it on my son, he has eczema, and it works wonders for his skin. But I’m wondering what would happen if I layered coconut oil on my already oil-prone face!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

